President appoints committee to investigate gas leak explosions

Tuesday, 30 November 2021 - 17:16

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed an eight-member committee to look into the recent gas leak explosions of (LPG) cylinders in domestic, trade, and sales outlets in various parts of the country and to find possible causes and find possible solutions.

The other members of the committee which is chaired by Prof. Shantha Walpola, University of Moratuwa are; Senior DIG Deshabandu Tennakoon, Prof. Ajith de Silva, University of Moratuwa, Prof. W.D.W Jayathilaka, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Prof. Pradeep Jayaweera, Prof. Narayan Sirimuthu, Commissioner, Inventors' Commission of Sri Lanka, Dr. Sudharshana Somasiri, Additional Director General, Institute of Industrial Technology and Sujeewa Mahagama, Senior Deputy Director, Sri Lanka Standards Institution.

The President has instructed the Committee to look into the views of all stakeholders and existing studies and submit the report to him within two weeks.

No description available.