President ratifies discharge papers of Chief Justice

Sunday, 13 January 2013 - 13:38


Presidential Spokesperson Mohan Samaranaike states that the decommissioning papers of Chief Justice Dr. Shirani Bandaranaike have been ratified by the President & sent to the official residence of the Chief Justice.


The Impeachment motion against the Chief Justice was debated in parliament last Friday & was passed with a majority of 2/3'rds.


Parliament's decision was notified to the President by Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa on Friday evening.


It was on the 01st of November last year that an impeachment motion against Chief Justice Dr. Shirani Bandaranaike, who incidentally is Sri Lanka's 43rd Chief Justice was signed into motion by 117 Members of Parliament was handed over to Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa.


It contained 14 charges against the Chief Justice.


After considering the contents in the motion, the Speaker appointed a Parliamentary Special Committee to probe the charges according to the provisions of the Constitution.


It comprised seven Government Parliamentarians and four Opposition Parliamentarians.


Minister Anura Priyadarshana Yapa was appointed to head the Committee.


The Parliamentary Special Committee was tasked with probing the charges in the impeachment and handing over a report within a month.


Subsequently Chief Justice Dr. Bandaranayake denied the allegations contained in the final report of the PSC and challenged the committee's verdict, saying she had not been given a fair hearing.


Afterwards the Supreme Court ruled that the parliamentary committee had no legal power to investigate the allegations.


The appeals court eventually nullified the committee's guilty verdict.


Another T-56 firearm found from Habarakada
Thursday, 02 July 2020 - 22:16

CID recover another T-56 firearm from Habarakada, Mullegama believed to be one of the weapons reported missing from the arms haul at Pitipana, Homagama Read More

Revelations about ETI - (Video)
Thursday, 02 July 2020 - 22:47

It was revealed today that despite the ETI director having written to the Central Bank in 2017 that they were unable to pay the depositors, Central Bank... Read More

President tells bankers to go grassroots
Thursday, 02 July 2020 - 21:09

In order to develop villages the banking service in the country should understand the rural economy and the needs of the people, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa... Read More