Parliamentary Council approves President's decision

Tuesday, 15 January 2013 - 12:51


The parliament has approved the President's proposal to appoint former Attorney General Mohan Peiris as the new Chief Justice.


Parliament convened today at 10am under the patronage speaker Chamal Rajapakse.


The parliamentary council appointed according to the 18th amendment comprises of the Speaker, Prime Minister, the Opposition Leader and MPs A. H. M Ashwar and D. M. Swaminathan representing the minorities.


However, only the speaker, the prime minister and MP A. H. M Ashwar were present in parliament today.


Leader of the opposition Ranil Wickramasinghe and MP D. M. Swaminathan had not participated in any prior meetings of the parliamentary council.


Speaking to our news team parliamentarian A. H. M Ashwar explained the decision reached by the parliamentary council.




The speaker has currently informed the president of the council's decision.