4 petitions filed against impeachment referred to Chief Justice Mohan Peiris

Monday, 21 January 2013 - 18:59


A three Judge panel of the Supreme Court today decided to refer four petitions to Chief Justice Mohan Peiris, which called for the nullification of the impeachment process filed against Chief Justice Dr. Shirani Banadaranaike.


The petitions in this regard were filed by several parties including the Bar Association of Sri Lanka & were considered before a trial at bar consisting of Supreme Court Justices Nimal Gamini Amarathunga, P.A. Rathnayeke & Eva Wanasundara.


Attorney-at-Law Shavendra Fernando who represented the Attorney General in Court today requested of court to appoint a panel consisting of 5 or more judges to investigate these petitions.


However Attorney at law M.A. Sumandiran who appeared on behalf of the petitioners submitted a preliminary objection during this juncture of the case.


Speaking further he noted that in accordance to the constitution Chief Justice Mohan Peiris should make these appointments.


Accordingly it was decided to refer these cases to Chief Justice Mohan Peiris for perusal.