Election of BASL office bearers today.

Wednesday, 20 February 2013 - 7:52


The election of BASL's 2013-2014 office-bearers is scheduled to be held in all District Court complexes from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. today.


Senior lawyers, Upul Jayasuriya, R. R. S. Thangaraajaa as well as President's Counsel Tirantha Walaliyadda have come forward for the position of Chairman.


President's Counsel Tirantha Walaliyadda who has come forward for the BASL chair this time said that the independence and sovereignty of the judiciary should be safeguarded.





Senior lawyer Upul Jayasuriya who has submitted his candidacy for the BASL chair this time said that all lawyers should unite for re-establishing the dignity and honour of the legal profession.




Attorney at Law Sanjaya Gamagey elected for the post of BASL Secretary without contest said that about 13,000 lawyers were eligible to vote at the office-bearers' election due to be held today.




After today's election of office-bearers, all executive committee members including deputy chairperson are scheduled to be elected at the first BASL  general session meeting that will be held on March 30th