A 9 member bench of judges for hearing the petitions affecting the chief justice.

Tuesday, 05 March 2013 - 8:03



Chief Justice Mohan Peiris yesterday appointed a nine-member bench of Supreme Court Judges for considering six rights petitions.


This nine-member bench of judges are scheduled to consider today four rights petitions affecting former CJ Shirani Bandaranayaka, one rights petition relating to the current CJ as well as a special  Appeal Petition rejected by the Appeal Court as a Writ Order.


The nine-member bench of Supreme Court Judges appointed yesterday is chaired by Supreme Court Judge Shirani Tilakawardhana.