SLC Presidency for Jayantha Dharmadasa.

Friday, 29 March 2013 - 8:21


The Sri Lanka Cricket executive committee has decided to appoint Jayantha Dharmadasa as the chairman of the institute.


This decision was taken when the committee met last afternoon.


Three nominations had been submitted for the Sri Lanka Cricket post of chairmanship this time.


These were those of Upali Dharmadasa, Thilanga Sumatipala and Sumith Perera.  


Several sections had filed allegations saying that these three persons had no eligibility for the post.


The Sports Minister also appointed a three-member committee for probing these charges.


The verdict of the committee was that all three of them did not have the basic qualifications for contesting for the post of chairmanship.


The Sri Lanka Cricket Executive Committee met yesterday for resolving the problem that had thus cropped up.


The new appointment also has Sports Minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage’s approval.


Our news team contacted the current Sri Lanka Cricket Institute chairman as follows for information on views about the new appointment: