Tamilnadu pressurizes Indian Centre to free Indian fishermen in Sri Lanka

Monday, 08 April 2013 - 13:09


Indian Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram slammed BJP for not supporting the UPA government's efforts to pass a resolution in Parliament on the Sri Lankan Tamils issue and rejected accusations hurled at Congress that it did not "support" the cause.




Addressing a public meeting, Chidambaram explained the initiatives the Congress took for passing a resolution in Parliament.


The government convened an all-party meet to discuss the issue, but BJP, Left Parties, Janata Dal, Akali Dal, Shiv Sena, Telugu Desam opposed a passage of resolution.


Chidambaram, who outlined the talks Congress held with DMK on the issue, charged that the Dravidian parties in Tamil Nadu were trying to make Congress a "scapegoat" over the Sri Lankan Tamils issue.


Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa has told Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Sing to impress upon Sri Lanka not to arrest Indian fishermen who stray into Sri Lankan waters.


Over 50 Indian fishermen were arrested over the weekend and have been remanded by court after they were caught poaching in Sri Lankan waters in two separate incidents.


The Indian media quoted Jayalalithaa as demanding for their release and warning that such incidents could escalate the tension between the two countries, besides creating “unrest” amongst the fishermen community.


A delegation of six Indian parliamentarians is scheduled to visit Sri Lanka today.


They will also visit Colombo and Jaffna during the trip, which is being organized by the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry.


In addition to meetings with MPs here, the members are likely to meet senior Ministers and political leaders.


The Indian High Commission in Sri Lanka stated that the MPs will also visit Jaffna to look at work on projects supported by the Indian government, particularly the owner-driven housing initiative.


The delegation comprises Saugata Roy of the Trinamool Congress, Sandeep Dikshit and Goud Yaskhi of the Congress party, Arug Thakur and Prakash Javadekar of the BJP, Dhananjay Singh of the BSP and two FICCI representatives