More protests over selling medical degree to foreign students

Wednesday, 08 May 2013 - 19:34



The medical faculty student activity committee has organized a protest opposite all universities against selling the local medical degree to foreign students.


A similar protest was organized today at the Galaha junction with the participation of students of all the faculties against the decision made by the Peradeniya Medical Faculty to enrol 10 foreign students.


The Federation of University Teachers Association alleged that 35 students were to be enrolled in the medical faculties of local universities.


Each foreign student who is being enrolled in the Peradeniya Medical Faculty is being charged 7.5 million rupees and the students chosen include foreign students that have local ancestry.


The Government Medical Officers Association states that it is against the privatization of education and enrolling students who are not qualified to the medical faculty.


Secretary of the GMOA Dr. Chandika Epitakaduwa stated that if this situation prevails the GMOA will decide on future steps to take.




However, speaking to our news team, the chairman of the University Grants Commission Shenika Hirim-buregama stated that the enrolling of foreign students in local universities was done based on a government policy.

Swarnamahal Financial Services PLC & ETI Finance Ltd suspended - CBSL
Monday, 13 July 2020 - 12:05

Central Bank suspends business activities of Swarnamahal Financial Services PLC & ETI Finance Ltd with effect from today (13) Read More

Mother and brother of veteran Indian actor Anupam Kher infected with Covid -19
Monday, 13 July 2020 - 11:26

The mother, brother and sister-in-law of senior Indian actor Anupam Kher have been infected with the corona virus.However, Anupam Kher has not been infected... Read More

Postal voting begins - will end for the day at 4.00pm
Monday, 13 July 2020 - 10:26

The first phase of postal voting for the general election has commenced.Postal voting for health staff members commenced at 9.00am.The Elections Commission... Read More