Parliamentary Select Committee convenes today

Tuesday, 09 July 2013 - 19:06


The Parliamentary Select Committee appointed to solve the national issue convened for the first time today under the leadership of its chairman Minister Nimal Siripala De Silva.


The PSC consists of 31 members and all 19 government representatives participated in today’s session.


Speaking to our news team following the conclusion of the discussion, representative of the PSC Minister Wasudeva Nanayakkara stated that the next meeting of the PSC will take place on the 26th of this month.




The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress which represents the government had earlier stated that it will not take part in the PSC.


Speaking to media following the meeting with Indian National Security Advisor Shivshankar Menon, the leader of the SLMC Minister Rauff Hakeem stated that the PSC that convened today can be identified as a cabinet sub committee.