Maithree and Shiral file petition against suspending their party membership

Wednesday, 17 July 2013 - 19:16


Two UNP Provincial Councillors Maithree Gunarathna and Shiral Laktilaka filed a petition against suspending their party memberships today.


The duo has named UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe, General Secretary Tissa Aththanayake, Disciplinary Committee Chairman Tilak Marapana and party working committee as respondents.


The two provincial councillors say that they received letters signed by the UNP General Secretary informing the cancellation of their party membership.


However the petition appealed the Court to announce the UNP decision to suspend their membership null and void.


Provincial Councillor Maithree Gunarathna spoke to our news team after filing the petition.




Meanwhile the UNP working Committee which met yesterday decided to conclude the disciplinary hearing against MP Buddhika Pathirana and MP Dayasiri Jayasekera.


Speculations were surrounding the last few days that Jayasekera was planning to defect the party.


The UNP also decided to offer conditional pardon for 4 other PC members who were charged for violating party disciplinary.