Dayasiri fooled us - says the UNP

Wednesday, 24 July 2013 - 19:11


Addressing journalists, UNP MP Ajith P Perera said that Jayasekera had said until yesterday that he would not join the government.




However UNP MP Lakshman Kiriella said in a media briefing this morning that MP Dayasiri sat in the UNP nomination board to select candidates for the North Western Provincial Council election yesterday.




Although MP Dayasiri refused reports about his plans to change sides several times in the past, our news team revealed on the 8th of August last year that he was preparing to defect.


5 UNP candidates from the Kurunegala district were elected to parliament in the general election held in 2010.


MP Dayasiri Jayasekera came first in the preferential vote list by obtaining 134,000 votes in the Kurunegala district.


The next in line in the Kurunegala UNP preferential vote list is North Western Provincial Councilor Naleen Bandara. Naleen Bandara obtained 29,000 preferential votes in the 2010 General election.


Naleen Bandara is now qualified to fill the parliament seat vacated after the resignation of Dayasiri Jayasekera.


When our news team contacted Naleen Bandara, he said that he was scheduled to have a discussion with Opposition Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe this afternoon.


Meanwhile 6 out of 8 UNP PS members of the Panduwas Nuwara Pradeshiya Sabha including its Opposition Leader joined the government just after Dayasiri Jayasekera’s resignation.


Dayasiri was the UNP’s Chief Organizer of the Panduwas Nuwara Constituency of the Kurunegala district.


Opposition Leader of the North Western Provincial Council Samansiri Peris said his fellow UNP members Wimal Dayananda, Janaka Tilakasiri, Darshana Sampath, Mano Kumara Edirisinghe and Hemantha Pallewatta have also joined the government.


Expressing his views on the party defection, former Opposition Leader Samansiri Peris had this to say.