Elections for the Northern, central and NW provincial councils on the 21st of September.

Thursday, 01 August 2013 - 13:05



Elections for the Northern, central and North-western provincial councils will be held on the 21st of September.


The nominations for the Provincial Council elections of 3 PC’s closed today at 12 noon.


16 political parties and 49 independent groups have handed over nominations for the forthcoming elections in the North, North Western and Central Provincial Councils.


Among these parties are the UPFA, UNP, JVP, Eelavar Democratic Party, Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kachchi, Eksath Lanka Maha Sabhava, CWC and the Janasetha Front.


Other political parties which have handed over nominations are Socialists Equality Party, United Organization of Nationals, Our National Front, SLMC, Democratic Party, United Socialist Party and Patriotic National Front.


The deadline to deposit cash bonds for the PC election expired yesterday at 12 noon.


The Election Commissioner’s Office stated that 81 independent groups deposited cash bonds before the deadline.