34 former PC members defeated in the election - 24 UPFA members and 6 UNP members among them.

Monday, 23 September 2013 - 13:15



34 previous PC members of the North Western and Central Provinces were defeated in the Saturday’s elections.


24 UPFA members, 6 UNP members, 2 SLMC and 2 JVP members are among the defeated.


7 UPFA members, 3 UNP members and 1 member each from the JVP and the SLMC who represented Kurunegala district in the former North Western Provincial Council have lost their seats in Saturday’s election.


6 UPFA members who represented the Puttalam district in the former North Western PC have also lost their seats in the Saturday election.


2 among them defected the UNP and contested the Saturday election on the UPFA ticket.


11 PC members who represented the Kandy district in the former Central Provincial Council have also lost their seats in the Saturday election.


5 UPFA members and 3 UNP members are among them. Former UNP Central Provincial Councilor Shantini Kongahage also lost her seat this time.


Meanwhile 4 UPFA PC members who represented Nuwara Eliya district have also lost their seats.


Among the defeated are a Higher Education Minister’s brother Saliya Dissanayake.

Tuesday, 14 July 2020 - 23:29

22 million cash bonanza, to celebrate the 22nd anniversary of Hiru – the highest cash bonanza through a TV channel -"22 years for Hiru, 22 Millionaires... Read More

Complete the election even by changing the gazette notification - Dayasiri  (Video)
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 - 23:35

Former parliamentarian Sisira Jayakody addressing a public meeting today stated that the candidates have been severely inconvenienced due to the election... Read More

CIA reveals large scale fraud involving sand in the construction industry  (video)
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 - 23:18

Hiru CIA has uncovered a large scale racket done through the sand transported by trucks from Kantale, Mahiyanganaya and Manampitiya for the needs of the... Read More