UPDATE : Dayasiri and Sarath sworn in as chief ministers

Thursday, 03 October 2013 - 8:00



Dayasiri Jayasekara and Sarath Ekanayaka were sworn in before President Mahinda Rajapakse as chief ministers of the North Western and Central provinces respectively this morning.


The swearing in ceremony was held at the presidential secretariat.


In the recently concluded provincial council election Dayasiri Jayasekara obtained 336 thousand 327 preferential votes thereby obtaining 1st place in the North Western Province from the UPFA candidates.


Former chief minister of the Central province Sarath Ekanayaka received only 70 thousand 171 preferential votes, although the candidate to receive the most number of preferential votes in the Central province was the son of Prime Minister D. M. Jayarathne, Anuradha Jayarathne.


He had received 176 thousand 44 preferential votes.


Meanwhile, T. B. Herath, Sanath Nishantha, Sandya Kumara Rajapakse and Gunadasa Dehigama have been sworn in as ministers in the North Western Provincial Council.


Ediriweera Weerawardena, Bandula Yalegama, Pramitha Bandara Tennakoon and Ramasamy Muththaiah were sworn in as ministers of the Central provincial council.

Thursday, 03 October 2013 - 12:35 PM


Thursday, 03 October 2013 - 08:00 AM

NW and Central CM s take oaths today; NW Chief Minister Dayasiri; Sarath for central.     

North Western and Central Provincial Council Chief Ministers are scheduled to take oaths before President Mahinda Rajapaksa this forenoon.


The Presidential Secretariat sources said that the swearing in is scheduled to take place at the Presidential Secretariat at about 11.30 a.m.


Accordingly Government sources said that while Dayaasiri Jayasekera was scheduled to be appointed as the North Western Province Chief Minister, former Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake was due to be appointed as Central Province Chief Minister.


A special discussion with regard to appointment of new chief ministers and swearing in was also held last afternoon under the patronage of the President.


On this occasion discussion was also held with regard to the manner of conferring of ministries of the provincial min council.


Dayasiri Jayasekera won the first place in the UPFA in the North Western Province polling 336 thousand 327 preferential votes at the election held recently.


The highest number of preferential votes in the central province was polled by Prime Minister D. M. Jayaratne’s son Anuradha Jayaratna.


Anuradha Jayaratna obtained 176 thousand 044 preferential votes.


Former Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake won the second place.


Accordingly he polled 70 thousand 171 preferential votes.


According to this there was a contentious situation about who would be the Central Province Chief Minister.


Meanwhile the Prime Ministerial Office in a release issued said that there was no change in the decision the UPFA had taken with regard to conferring the post of Chief Minister to the North Western and Central Provincial Councils won by the UPFA to persons who had secured the highest number of preferential votes.

Friday, 10 July 2020 - 23:04

22 million cash bonanza, to celebrate the 22nd anniversary of Hiru – the highest cash bonanza through a TV channel -"22 years for Hiru, 22 Millionaires... Read More

Sajith and Ranil are clashing unable to share the green colour (video)
Friday, 10 July 2020 - 23:08

Former UNP parliamentarian Hesha Withanage stated that it is a foolish statement made by the UNP general secretary to say that the green color belongs... Read More

Law will be strictly enforced against false propaganda on social media regarding Covid infected patients
Friday, 10 July 2020 - 22:35

The Police Media Spokesman stated that the law will be strictly enforced against those who make false propaganda on social media that coronavirus infected... Read More