UPDATE: Video:C.V. Wigneswaran assumes duties

Monday, 07 October 2013 - 7:57



Northern Provincial Council Chief Minister C.V. Wigneswaran assumed duties in the new post at his office at Kovil Street in Jaffna today.


Later he joined an inspection tour in his line ministries.


When our news team contacted TNA leader R. Sampandan to comment on the appointment of the Northern PC ministers, he said a final decision with regard to the appointment of the new ministers will be taken tonight or tomorrow morning.


However Northern PC ministers should take oaths on or before 11th of this month

New Update Wednesday, 09 October 2013 - 1:03 PM


Vigneshwaran sworn in as the 1st Northern Chief Minister.

C.V. Wigneswaran was sworn in as the first Chief Minister of the Northern Provincial Council before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at Temple Trees this morning.

Taking oaths in Tamil was specific at this sworn in ceremony.

Prime Minister D.M. Jayarathna, Senior Minister Dr. Tissa Vitharana, Ministers Maithreepala Sirisena, Douglas Devananda, Rauff Hakeem, Wasudeva Nanayakkara, MPs P. Digambaram, Prabha Ganeshan, UNP MP John Amaratunga and North Province Governor G.A. Chandrasiri participated in the ceremony.

All leaders of the TNA coalition had been invited to the swearing-in ceremony but only TNA leader R. Sampandan, MPs M.A. Sumandiran, Appaturai Vinayagamurthi and PLOT leader Dharmaligam Siddarthan participated.

Meanwhile sources said that TULF Leader Ananda Sangaree who lost a seat in the Northern Provincial Council in the recently concluded election had not been invited to the ceremony.

Meanwhile all religious observations were held before Dayasiri Jayasekera assumed duties as the 6th Chief Minister of the north western Provincial Council at his office at the auspicious time of 10.03 this morning.

Later addressing the media Jayasekera said that he would work to bring new development to the North Western Province.


Sunday, Monday, 07 October 2013 - 12:39 PM


C.V. Vigneshvaran sworn in

Previous News Sunday, Monday, 07 October 2013 - 09:38 AM

C.V. Vigneshvaran was sworn in as the Chief Minister of the Northern Province before President Mahinda Rajapaksha at Temple Trees a short while ago.



Previous News Sunday, Monday, 07 October 2013 - 07:57 AM

Vigneshwaran take oaths before President today; Opposition from Several TNA parties.

TNA’s C.V. Vigneshvaran is scheduled to take oaths as Northern Province Chief Minister before the President today.


C.V. Vigneshvaran who polled the highest number of preferential votes for the Northern Provincial Council at the recent provincial council election received his appointment as Chief Minister from the hands of Northern Province Governor G. A. Chandrasiri.


Subsequently at the discussion held between President Mahinda Rajapaksa and TNA Leader R. Sambandan it was decided that C. V. Vigneshwaran should take his oaths as Northern Province Chief Minister before the President.


Reports state that all the leaders of the TNA and party representatives have been invited for the occasions although certain leaders of the TNA are yet to confirm their participation.