Oath taking by TNA s 9 councillors in Mulathiv postponed.

Monday, 14 October 2013 - 8:07


The ceremony for swearing in, in Mullaitiv by nine councilors elected for the Northern provincial council from TNA arranged for today has been temporarily postponed.

TELO member Vanni District MP Shivashakti Anandan said that this oath-taking had been temporarily postponed according to a request by His Lordship the Bishop of Mannar.

Nine Councillors elected for the Northern Province from TNA had boycotted the oath-taking ceremony due to a problem that had cropped up in assigning Northern Province Ministries.

Accordingly while TNA constituent parties PLOTE and TULF had boycotted the TNA swearing in ceremony, only councilor P. Ayingaraneshan had come from the E.P. R. L.F. for the ceremony.

However although the TELO leader MP Selvam Adaikkalanathan had come for the swearing in function, former MP M. K. Sivaajilingam who had been elected for the Provincial Council from TELO did not come for the swearing in.

However 21councillors elected for the Northern Provincial Council from TNA and the four Provincial Ministers took their oaths in Jaffna on 11th this month before Chief Minister C. V. Vigneshvaran.

Producing prison inmates before courts have been temporarily halted
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 - 11:16

The prisons department have decided to temporarily stop producing prison inmates before courts.  Read More

News bulletin of the number one news broadcaster - at 11.55 am today
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 - 11:12

News bulletin of the number one news broadcaster - at 11.55 am todayThe news broadcasts will also be streamed live on YouTube. Read More

J'Pura University final year exam postponed - Student's family infected with covid-19
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 - 11:30

The administration has decided to postpone the examinations scheduled to be held for the final year students of the Management Faculty of the University... Read More