Sri Lanka qualified for World Cup quarter-finals

Monday, 09 March 2015 - 22:01

Sri Lanka will play its quarter-final at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on 18 March, while Bangladesh will play its quarter-final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on 19 March, against rivals to be determined by the respective finishing positions in the pool stage.

Bangladesh has qualified for the quarter-finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 following its victory over England at the Adelaide Oval on last Monday. Bangladesh’s victory means Sri Lanka has secured the fourth and final spot from Pool A in the last eight stage of the tournament.

Australia and New Zealand from Pool A and India from Pool B have already qualified for the quarter-final. Australia will play its quarter-final in Adelaide on Friday, 20 March while New Zealand will play its quarter-final in Wellington on Saturday, 21 March with the opponents of the co-hosts still to be determined.

India’s venue is also yet to be confirmed, and will depend on its Pool A opponent.

Quarter-final matches:

Quarter-final 1 – A1 v B4

Quarter-final 2 – A2 v B3

Quarter-final 3 – A3 v B2

Quarter-final 4 – A4 v B1