Australia wins 2015 cricket world cup

Sunday, 29 March 2015 - 16:39

Australia won the 2015 cricket world cup which is also the 11th cricket world cup, at the Sydney Cricket ground today!

Australia beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in 33.1 overs.

Even though New Zealand won the toss, and elected to bat first, The Ausies were able to bowl them all out for only 183 runs, in 45 overs.

Michael Clarke hit 74 from 72 balls but became Matt Henry's second victim with the finish line in sight.

Fittingly, though, captain-in-waiting Steve Smith was there at the end, 56 not out.

New Zealand will reflect on a successful campaign which captivated the nation on the back of an attacking brand of cricket and eight successive wins to reach the final, but the result puts a dampener on things.

New Zealand’s Martin Guptill scored 547 runs, edging ahead of Kumar Sangakkara's 541 - to end the tournament.

The last world cup Australia won was in 2007, they also won the 1987 world cup, 1999, 2003, and 2015.

This is also Australia’s 7th world cup final, and 5th world cup victory.   

Man of the world cup final was Australian bowler, James Falkner, and the man of the world cup tournament was Australian left-arm fast bowler Mitchel Starc.

Australian Captain Michael Clark while commenting on the world cup victory, stated that they dedicate the victory to their little brother late Philip Hues.

This is also Michael Clark’s final ODI match, since he will be retiring from ODI Cricket after today.