Kumar Sangakkara selected to ICC 2015 Cricket World Cup team

Monday, 30 March 2015 - 20:24

The International Cricket Council today announced the team of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and Sri Lanka's prolific batsman Kumar Sangakkara has been selected as the wicketkeeper-batsman.

The 2015 Cricket World Cup runner-up New Zealand's Brendon McCullum has been chosen as the captain of the ICC team following his "aggressive, innovative and inspirational leadership" during the 44-day tournament.

In addition to McCullum and Sangakkara, the side includes four New Zealanders - Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Daniel Vettori - three Australians in Glenn Maxwell, Steven Smith and Mitchell Starc, and two South Africans, AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel.