Sangakkara, Sivaramakrishnan set to as players' representative on the ICC cricket committee.

Monday, 06 May 2013 - 13:55




Laxman Sivaramakrishnan, the former India leg-spinner, is set to join Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara as a players' representative on the ICC cricket committee, replacing the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations chief executive, Tim May.


Sivaramakrishnan, currently a commentator on Indian television, is learnt to have beaten May in a fiercely contested election that saw intense lobbying by both sides.


Based on nominations received by it, the ICC board had proposed three names - those of Sangakkara, May and Sivaramakrishnan - for the two players' representative positions.


Sangakkara, sole current player, is expected to be elected unanimously while Sivaramakrishnan is believed to have received six of the ten votes in the other slot, for former players.