Election Commission chairman officially declares Gotabhaya Rajapaksa's victory

Sunday, 17 November 2019 - 15:56

Chairman of the Election Commission Mahinda Deshapriya has announced that Gotabhaya Rajapakse, the candidate of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, has been elected as the 7th Executive President of Sri Lanka, according to the results of the Presidential Election.

He also said that the people are very hopeful about the election manifesto of Gotabhaya Rajapakse, who has been elected as the new President.

According to the final result of the presidential election, Gotabhaya Rajapakse of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna polled 6,924,255 votes - 52.25% .

Sajith Premadasa, the New Democratic Front candidate, polled 51,239 million votes -41.99%.

Anura Kumara Dissanayake, the candidate of the Jathika Jana Balavegaya polled 18,553 votes – 3.16%.

The Chairman of the Election Commission announced Gotabhaya Rajapaksa as the winner of the Presidential election.

Gotabhaya Rajapaksa who was elected as the 7th Executive President of Sri Lanka will be sworn in tomorrow at 11.00 am in front of the Ruwanweli Seya at Anuradhapura.

Unrest at Mahara Prison: Death toll stands at 11
Tuesday, 01 December 2020 - 17:52

Two more inmates at the Mahara Prison have died following the unrest at the Mahara Prison. Accordingly, the death toll has increased to 11. Read More

India reports over 30,000 COVID cases in a day
Tuesday, 01 December 2020 - 18:10

In the last 24 hours that ended today (01) morning, another 31,118 COVID patients were reported in India, while 482 COVID deaths were recorded. Currently,... Read More

Sri Lanka Economic Summit 2020 - President address the forum
Tuesday, 01 December 2020 - 17:24

Sri Lanka Economic Summit with a focus on ‘Post-COVID-19 Economic Recovery’ commenced today. Shrimathi Nirmala Sitharaman, Honourable... Read More