Madugalle, Dharmasena to officiate in LPL

Saturday, 21 November 2020 - 15:36

Chief match referee of the International Cricket Council Ranjan Madugalle and ICC elite panel umpire Kumar Dharmasena will feature in a highly recognised match referee and umpiring panel to officiate in the Lanka Premier League.

Madugalle refereed in seven ICC Cricket World Cups, including the finals of 1999, 2003, 2015 and 2019 tournaments.

He will be joined by Graeme Labrooy and Wendell Labrooy, who are members of the international panel of ICC match referees to officiate in the LPL, the LPL said in a release.

Manoj Mendis, a first class match referee too, will join the panel of LPL match referees.

Dharmasena,, who won the ICC David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year in 2012 and 2018, will be a part of the 11 member LPL umpiring panel, the statement added.

He will be joined by Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal, and Prageeth Rambukwella, who are members of the ICC international panel of umpires.

Apart from them, Deepal Gunawardena, Hemantha Botheju, Keerthi Bandara, Asanga Jayasuriya, Rohitha Kottahachchi, and Raveendra Kottahachchi, who are Level 01 Umpires, will also take up officiating duties during the LPL.

India end 5 match losing streak - beat Australia by 13 runs
Wednesday, 02 December 2020 - 17:51

India 5 for 302 (Pandya 92*, Jadeja 66*, Kohli 63, Agar 2-44) beat Australia 289 (Finch 75, Maxwell 59, Thakur 3-51, Bumrah 2-43) by 13 runsThis ended... Read More

Cases to be expedited to reduce prison congestion
Wednesday, 02 December 2020 - 17:24

IGP has directed all senior police officers to file plaints against drug users by Monday on the advice of the Attorney General.The Police Media Spokesman... Read More

Japan to provide free Covid-19 vaccines to their citizens
Wednesday, 02 December 2020 - 17:36

A bill to provide coronavirus vaccinations free of charge with the central government covering the cost was passed in the Diet, offering a key plan to... Read More