List of newly appointed Judges

Tuesday, 01 December 2020 - 22:26

A total of 21 Judges to superior courts were sworn in before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, marking a new milestone in the judicial system of the country.

Among them were six Judges that were appointed to the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka. The list of the newly appointed Judges are as below.

1. Justice A. H. M. Dilip Nawaz
2. Justice Kumudini Wickremasinghe
3. Justice Anthony Lalith Shiran Gooneratne
4. Justice Janak de Silva
5. Justice Arachchige Achala Uthpalavarna Wengappuli
6. Justice Mahinda Abeysinghe Samayawardhena

For the Court of Appeal of Sri Lanka, Justice Arjuna Obeysekara was sworn in as the President of the Court of Appeal, while another 14 Judges also took the oath before the President.

1. Ms Menaka Wijesundera
2. Mr D. N. Samarakoon
3. Mr M Prasantha de Silva
4. Mr M. T. M. Laffar
5. Mr C. Pradeep Keerthisinghe
6. Mr Sampath B Abayakoon
7. Mr M. S. K. B. Wijeratne
8. Mr S. U. B. Karalliyadde
9. Mr R. Gurusinghe
10. Mr G. A. D. Ganepola
11. Mrs K. K. A. V. Swarnadhipathi
12. Mr Mayadunne Corea
13. Mr Prabaharan Kumararatnam
14. Mr W. N. N. P. Iddawala

The full statement issued by the Presidential Media Division can be accessed here.

Anuradhapura Bhikku University temporarily closed due to covid
Monday, 18 January 2021 - 7:16

The Anuradhapura Bhikku University has been temporarily closed.The decision to close was taken after five persons in the university were infected with... Read More

Long distance train journeys re-commence today
Monday, 18 January 2021 - 7:03

Long distance train journeys will re-commence today (January 18).Accordingly, trains will run on the main line from Colombo Fort to Kandy and Badulla.The... Read More

Weather update 18 January: Heavy rainfall expected
Monday, 18 January 2021 - 6:07

Showers will occur at times in North-central, Eastern, Central and Uva provinces. and fairly heavy falls above 50 mm can be expected at some places... Read More