India beat USA to enter Super 8

Thursday, 13 June 2024 - 5:46

India 111 for 3 (Suryakumar 50*, Dube 31*, Netravalkar 2-18) beat USA 110 for 8 (Nitish 27, Taylor 24, Arshdeep 4-9, Hardik 2-14) by seven wickets

India registered a seven-wicket win over United States at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York on Wednesday.

India are now through to the Super Eights, but USA are still very much masters of their own fate; a win over Ireland, even a washout, will see them through, ahead of Pakistan whom they famously beat in a Super Over thriller last week.

India's win in the game means that Pakistan's chances to qualify for the next stage is now completely dependent on the United States vs Ireland game on June 14.

If USA lose that game, Pakistan will have a clear chance of winning against Ireland and entering the Super Eight with four points to their credit.

However, if USA go on to win the game, they will enter the next round with 6 points and Pakistan will be eliminated from the tournament as they can reach to a maximum of four points.

Talking about the game on Wednesday, Arshdeep Singh's 4 for 9, the best bowling figures by an Indian bowler in T20 World Cup, helped Rohit Sharma and Co. restrict USA to 110 for 8. In reply, Suryakumar Yadav's unbeaten fifty guided India home in 18.2 overs

Argentina beat Colombia 1-0, to clinch back-to-back titles
Monday, 15 July 2024 - 11:55

Argentina clinched the Copa America 2024 title despite seeing Lionel Messi being substituted off in the second half due to an injury. Substitute striker... Read More

Spain scores in the dying moments to claim record fourth Euro title
Monday, 15 July 2024 - 11:53

Spain's Mikel Oyarzabal scored four minutes from time as they capped a dominant Euro 2024 campaign with a deserved 2-1 win over England in Sunday's showpiece... Read More

Showers or thundershowers expected in several areas
Monday, 15 July 2024 - 11:48

Showers or thundershowers will occur at times in Western, Sabaragamuwa and North-western provinces and in Kandy, Nuwara-Eliya, Galle and Matara districts.Fairly... Read More