USA through to Super 8 & secures a place in the next T20 World Cup in 2026

Saturday, 15 June 2024 - 1:51

USA have qualified for the Super Eight stage in their maiden T20 World Cup appearance, after their final group game against Ireland was washed out in Florida. The no-result gave USA five points, which was enough for a second-place finish behind India in Group A.

There was heavy rain in Florida all week and the outfield in Lauderhill was extremely wet on Friday morning. There wasn't enough time to get the outfield ready for play before the rain returned to end any chances of the match beginning.

USA had begun their campaign with a victory against Canada in Dallas, and then they upset Pakistan in a Super Over to become strong contenders to qualify for the Super Eight. Though they were then beaten by India, USA came to Florida needing only one point from the match against Ireland to qualify.

The result also ensured that USA would be among the automatic qualifiers for the 2026 T20 World Cup in India and Sri Lanka.

Friday's washout eliminated Pakistan, Canada and Ireland from Group A, and all three teams are scheduled to play in Florida over the weekend, weather permitting. Canada play India on Saturday, while Ireland take on Pakistan on Sunday. Ireland are the only team in Group A without a win yet, having lost to India and Canada before the abandonment against USA.

Argentina beat Colombia 1-0, to clinch back-to-back titles
Monday, 15 July 2024 - 11:55

Argentina clinched the Copa America 2024 title despite seeing Lionel Messi being substituted off in the second half due to an injury. Substitute striker... Read More

Spain scores in the dying moments to claim record fourth Euro title
Monday, 15 July 2024 - 11:53

Spain's Mikel Oyarzabal scored four minutes from time as they capped a dominant Euro 2024 campaign with a deserved 2-1 win over England in Sunday's showpiece... Read More

Showers or thundershowers expected in several areas
Monday, 15 July 2024 - 11:48

Showers or thundershowers will occur at times in Western, Sabaragamuwa and North-western provinces and in Kandy, Nuwara-Eliya, Galle and Matara districts.Fairly... Read More