Ravindra Jadeja's strange dismissal: No problem if he ran straight - Sangakkara

Monday, 13 May 2024 - 11:10

Ravindra+Jadeja%27s+strange+dismissal%3A+No+problem+if+he+ran+straight+-+Sangakkara+
Ravindra Jadeja was dismissed 'obstructing the field' during the IPL 2024 match between Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals on Monday. During the 16th over of CSK's run chase, Jadeja guided a delivery from Avesh Khan to third-man and completed one run comfortably.

The all-rounder turned and was half-way down the pitch for another run when Ruturaj Gaikwad asked him to turn back.

Sanju Samson received the throw from the fielder and as he threw the ball towards the stumps on the non-striker's end, it hit Jadeja who was frantically trying to make his way back to the crease.

The on-fielders umpires opted for a review and the third umpire decided that Jadeja deliberately changed his direction while running and decided to rule in RR's favour. 

Chennai Super Kings batting coach Michael Hussey on Sunday felt that the decision to give Ravindra Jadeja out for obstructing the field could have gone either way.

Jadeja became the third batter in IPL history to be adjudged out for obstructing the field after a miscommunication with skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad during their chase against Rajasthan Royals.

"Didn't look closely at it. He did try to turn around, so he changed his angle a little bit. But he didn't change his angle while running straight," Hussey told reporters during the post-match interaction.

"I can see both sides of the story. I can understand the umpire making the decision. The rule says you cannot change your line, so maybe, it was a fair call."

The contest was low-scoring, in which the hosts prevailed by five wickets to keep their playoff hopes alive.

Had Jadeja run straight, it wouldn't have been a problem: Sangakkara

When asked about Jadeja's dismissal, RR's Director of Cricket Kumar Sangakkara said that it is how the law works.

"The law says that if a batter changes his direction and gets in the way of the throw, it is considered an obstruction. The rule was changed for the same reason a few years back," he articulated.

"Even if you are (running) in the middle, and if the ball hits your body, it's considered out. Had he (Jadeja) run straight on the side where he stopped, it wouldn't have been a problem at all." 
No description available.

No description available.

No description available.



Sri Lanka women beat West Indies women with 15 overs to spare
Saturday, 15 June 2024 - 18:11

Sri Lanka Women 198 for 4 (Samarawickrama 44*, Hasini 43, Gunaratne 40, Athapaththu 38, Alleyne 2-22, Fletcher 2-31) beat West Indies Women 195 (Matthews... Read More

Kate, Princess of Wales, makes first public appearance since cancer diagnosis
Saturday, 15 June 2024 - 18:03

Kate, Britain's Princess of Wales, made her first public appearance on Saturday since surgery five months ago revealed the presence of cancer, attending... Read More

Matija Sarkic, Millwall and Montenegro goalkeeper, dies aged 26
Saturday, 15 June 2024 - 18:12

The Millwall and Montenegro goalkeeper Matija Sarkic has died at the age of 26, the club have announced. It has been reported that Sarkic fell ill at an... Read More